My Digital Life – Traditional Media

With the new year came “the changing of the guard” or, rather the changing of what the guard is guarding. For me, that meant transitioning from teaching a population of fifth graders to students in grade six. The first lesson that I chose to explore with them was My Digital Life: a look at different types of media and their effect on our daily lives.

In preparation to discuss the concept of traditional media (the idea that this type of media moves in one direction/way from producer to consumer), I needed to come up with an example to jumpstart our conversation. Then I thought, what better way than to show a video of their generation interacting with technology from my generation. Come to find out, The Fine Brothers have created a series of videos on this very topic! The hardest part was deciding on which video to show:

I picked the old computer…Lucas is such a hoot.

Leave a Reply

