Safer Internet Day – Security Checkup

Internet Safer Day was last week on Tuesday, February 5th. To celebrate, Google spent the entire week covering a variety of topics relating to being safe online (you can check out their series of articles here). For users who have Google accounts, one thing that you can and should do on a regular basis is perform a Security Checkup on all of your Google accounts.

Google Security Checkup homepage

Google’s Security Checkup is a three-step process where you will be asked to check on three important areas of your account safety:

Options menu for each app, site, and service that has access to your account info.
  • Third-party access: This is the list of sites, apps, and services that have access to some of the personal information found in your account. Sources that you haven’t used in a while may no longer need access and can be removed, and if you see an entry you don’t recognize or don’t remember giving permission to access your account should most definitely have their access revoked.
  • Your devices: This is the list of all of the devices that have been used to login to your Google account. If you don’t recognize a device, then it might be a good idea to remove the device from the list and then consider changing your password. (Click here to see how to use Gmail to force a sign-out of all of your active web sessions.)
  • Recent security events: This drop-down list will show any recent requests to connect to your account. Again, if you don’t recognize a request then your account may be at risk.
Google Security Checkup - recent security events list

It is a good idea to perform a Security Checkup on your Google account about once a month, and if you have more than one account (e.g. a professional account for work and a personal account) then don’t forget to run the Security Checkup on each one. For other web accounts, it would be a good idea to familiarize yourself with the security options that they provide:

WeVideo & Chromebooks: Let’s Get This Party Started

WeVideo is proving to be the video production tool that may meet the needs of our students and teachers. In the past our school found itself in a 1-to-1 environment outfitted with various Apple devices from laptops to iPads with iMovie being our go-to tool. Now half of my students are using Chromebooks where iMovie can’t go, but WeVideo can and its compatible with both Apple’s OS and iOS platforms (i.e. it’s web-based for the laptops and they have an iPad app too). And, WeVideo supports sign-in with Google which works for us since we are a GSuite for Education district.

This is all well and good, but to truly know if WeVideo can cut it in today’s classroom I needed to get students and teachers into the app and see what it can do. So I put together a tutorial to help them get setup in the app and begin creating video content.


  • Use the following link to access the signup page: https://www.wevideo.com/sign-in
  • Select Log in with Google as your sign-in option.
  • Verify your Google account

Login options for WeVideo

  • When prompted…
    1. choose “School” for Where will you use WeVideo
    2. Select your identity: Student or Educator
    3. Choose your grade level: K-12 or Higher Education
    4. If you’re a student then click the green Submit button to finish. If you’re an educator then click the green Next button to continue.

Select type, role, and grade level

  • For Educators, when prompted continue to provide the following information…
    1. Select your role
    2. Subject(s) taught
    3. Grade level(s) taught [optional]
    4. Click the green Next button to continue

Choose role, subject, and grade level

  • When prompted…
    1. Enter school name if asked, or…
    2. Enter Location and Region information (this is to help match the appropriate assistance team to you in case you need assistance)
    3. Click the green Submit button to finish

Choose school, or choose location and region

And that’s it, you’re in! In future posts I will explore some of the features found in WeVideo. Some will be available to users on any account while others may be available only to subscription accounts, just to tease you a little bit.